Swine flu or bad economy?

Over and over again, I keep hearing about how airlines are taking such a hit right now. I just read the article: Half Empty Plane: Is it Swine Flu or Slump? and it really got me thinking. Would something like the swine flu affect your travel plans if you had a vacation or business trip ahead? Or do you think the economy is more or less what is causing this lull in air travel? The author said:

My flight to London was half-full – perhaps from last-minute cancellations over swine flu fears, but more likely the result of the global economic recession, which has drastically reduced tourism and business travel, or maybe it was just due to the ungodly departure hour of 7:45 a.m.

I honestly don’t think I’m letting the swine flu or the economy affect how I’m living my day to day life. If I want to go on a trip, and I have the money to do it, I’m not going to let the fear of catching this flu stop me from going.
My wonder is how much the airlines are going to have to continue to increase their rates because of the people who are choosing not to travel right now. I’m already really disappointed with Alaska Air’s choice to start charging for even your first checked bag. How many people can really fly without checking one piece of luggage unless it is for a quick trip? One thing I noticed after they started charging for bag number two is that the over head compartments are just getting more and more crowded. I really don’t think the extra charges are going to help much in the long run.
Anyway….rant over. Swine flu, bad economy, high airline prices…it is all life. I’m not going to let it stop me from enjoying life and doing the things I love to do.

Leave a Reply

