Facebook=Bad grades?

Aryn Karpinski, an education researcher at Ohio State University, did a survey of college students and found that college students who actively use facebook, have a lower GPA than those student who do not actively use facebook. Although the study does not say that facebook has a direct effect on student’s grades, there is a correlation between extra curricular activities and poor grades. The study did a comparison between students who studied x amount of hours and/or had jobs vs. those who did more Internet-type activities. It also stated that those who engaged in more extracurricular activities were more likely to use facebook vs. students who had jobs.

This article came from yahoo! news. The article did not mention twitter.   🙂

One Response

  1. Well to me, that would make sense. I know that I am probably one of few who actually use facebook and twitter, BUT I admit, I do use myspace. I find myself everyday coming home and going on the computer, probably the majority of it not doing school work. Since being in college, I found that my GPA went up, even though I don’t have a Facebook account, myspace I believe is generally in that same category. So I guess it really depends on the person and how much time they spend? I’m just saying that going on any social networking site has a real effect on how well I do, which most likely it probably does.

Leave a Reply

