Whoda thunk it?

I though we were over this whole “being gay is all in your head” thing. According to this article one sixth of British therapists are still trying to teach how to be un-gay. It’s still taught of as a “cure”. Can you believe that?

“There is very little evidence to show that attempting to treat a person’s homosexual feelings is effective and in fact it can actually be harmful,” according to Micheal King of University College London.

I tend to agree with that. There are numerous people in my life, friends, family, classmates, co-workers, who are homosexual. Many of them have shared their heartbreaking stories of how people tried to “beat the gay out of them” or teach them how to be straight and it caused nothing but trauma and pain. No bueno, if you asked me.

 

4 Responses

  1. I also saw that headline but didn’t check out the story…reminded me a bit of Governor Palin’s Katie Couric interview where gay marriage is brought up and Governor Palin, without batting an eye, discusses the “choice” that adults make in their own relationships and how it does not involve her, it’s not the “choice” that she has made, her good friend “chooses” to be gay…you come out of the interview thinking about when exactly it was that Governor Palin “chose” to be straight?

  2. Thats so sad! I can’t believe this kind of thing is still be discussed seriously let alone taught. My heart breaks for the people who are subjected to that kind of thing

  3. Well at least commercials are trying to get into the act of trying stop the saying of “gay”. I have seen at least 2, one with Hilary Duff and another one. I personally don’t have any homosexual friends, but I have met some before. I still find something like that very wrong in trying to turn somebody into what others see as a right way of being.

  4. There is still a lot of debate about the “gay” issue. Personally, I think its a personal matter and there shouldn’t be any problem or debate or therapy (unless the individual asked for it.) The article reminds me of a movie I watched with my girlfriend called But I’m A Cheerleader. It was about a camp for gays called True Directions where they tried to teach the campers how to be straight and deminish their homosexual tendencies. Its a satirical comedy with a nice little love scene. I don’t know the solution to our societies obsorbtion with curing homosexuals besides trying to lessen the negative stigma and associations.

Leave a Reply

