Veni, Vidi, Vici

limbaugh-mussolini

Apparently, the Republican Party of the United States has ended up in such a vacuum of leadership that the “undeclared” (but apparently very much acknowledged) chief of the GOP has become the quasi-comedic radical radio-host Rush Limbaugh. In one of his speeches on national radio, Limbaugh declared the following jaw-dropping statement:

If I wanted Obama to succeed, I’d be happy the Republicans have laid down. And I would be encouraging Republicans to lay down and support him. Look, what he’s talking about is the absorption of as much of the private sector by the US government as possible, from the banking business, to the mortgage industry, the automobile business, to health care. I do not want the government in charge of all of these things. I don’t want this to work. So I’m thinking of replying to the guy, “Okay, I’ll send you a response, but I don’t need 400 words, I need four: I hope he fails.” (interruption) What are you laughing at? See, here’s the point. Everybody thinks it’s outrageous to say. Look, even my staff, “Oh, you can’t do that.” Why not? Why is it any different, what’s new, what is unfair about my saying I hope liberalism fails? Liberalism is our problem. Liberalism is what’s gotten us dangerously close to the precipice here. Why do I want more of it? I don’t care what the Drive-By story is. I would be honored if the Drive-By Media headlined me all day long: “Limbaugh: I Hope Obama Fails.” Somebody’s gotta say it.

OK, first of all, the “absorption of … the private sector by the US government,” as Limbaugh so feverishly opposes, was jump-started specifically and undeniably by the Bush Administration during his last year in office. The so-called “bail-out” plan that Mr. Bush Jr. lobbied for during the most heated months of the presidential campaign last year, was perhaps his attempt of leaving office with some level of closure. In other words, the bail-out plan was Bush’s last chance to deliver some sort of responsible measure that would ameliorate the short-term punch of the housing markets’ fiasco on the middle class (plus the auto industry desperation, that proved to be more out-of-touch with reality than anyone could have guessed); the “bail-out” also was Bush’s last chance of providing some valuable foundation for long-term repairs of the economy. And he blew it! The lack of management of some $300 billion of tax dollars led to unthinkable mistakes as far as the distribution of this money to its destination. I suppose it contributed to the “golden parachutes” that some of these Presidents and Magnates of absorbed-to-be, failed institutions had set out for themselves. Obama was left with cleaning up the mess created by his predecessor. Granted, Obama’s Stimulus Package is not without risks (potentially disastrous too), but the other camp can’t come up with anything close to reasonable that must be done to fix this problem.

Returning to comedian-in-chief Limbaugh’s statement, what he is saying is beyond outrageous! He wants Obama to fail? What kind of a Republican – or, going even further – what kind of an American is he, when he says that he wishes that the president of his country will fail? The beauty of analogy will help me point out the obvious: Rush Limbaugh wants America to fail! Rush Limbaugh’s colorful statements and electrifying energy when it comes to dividing the country becomes very similar to what once was a great “unifier” in Italy’s history.

The saddest thing about this Mussolini-like figure who calls himself a Republican, is that he is not being tackled by the party that he associates with in his political views. On the contrary, he is defended by Republicans, as being the “intellectual force” behind the conservatives, and even apologized to by the ones who dared criticize his ideas.

One Response

  1. I was watching Comedy Central after the Republican National Convention. Both the Daily Show and Colbert Report were showing the highlights of the speakers and the points they were making. I really don’t understand how these people could and would say anything they did, but then again, maybe I am biased; I am not a republican nor do I get all my information from Fox news.

Leave a Reply

